About the noise and the measures

Air traffic noise is one of the major concerns of Genève Aéroport. For more than four decades, it has been measuring, monitoring and struggling to limit noise impact of the activities carried out by the many actors of the platform.

As part of the Sectoral Aviation Infrastructure Plan (SAIP), a strong commitment has been assumed to cap the noise for the coming years and, on the long term, reduce air traffic noise footprint. 

In order to improve dialogue with local residents, Genève Aéroport has developed an interactive platform concerning aircraft movements and emitted noise. Managed by Genève Aéroport with the support of the company CASPER, specialised in this field, this platform is rich in information (noise measurement, legal provisions, actions taken, information on movements, etc.) and is a privileged link between the airport and local residents.  

 

Regulated nocturnal movements

The Federal Airport Operating Concession, as well as the Federal Ordinance on Aviation Infrastructure govern the regime of nocturnal movements of aircraft at Genève Aéroport.

Take offs and landings of non-commercial flights are allowed at Genève Aéroport between 06:00 and 22:00. 

For commercial flights, take offs and landings are possible from 06:00 until 00:30. No departure slot is granted after 22:00 and no arrival slot after 00:00 Thus, departures between 22:00 and 00:30 and arrivals between 00:00 and 00:30 are movements planned in case of delay. 

Traffic between 06:00 and 22:00 is therefore strictly limited. 

However, the airport has an obligation to remain open 24/24 in order to address all exceptional and unforeseeable situations (technical incidents, medical flights or diversion due to medical reasons, search and rescue flights etc.) and/or authorised by the Federal Ordinance on Aviation Infrastructure or the Federal Office of Civil Aviation (FOCA) (military, diplomatic, humanitarian, technical flights etc.). 

In an exceptional event, the airport can grant derogation for movements beyond 00:30 Airlines’ requests are considered on a case-by-case basis. Genève Aéroport does not grant unjustified derogation; such a derogation remains absolutely exceptional.

Soundproofing neighbouring housing

Conformément à son règlement d’exploitation du 31 mai 2001, GenèveIn accordance with its operating rules of 31 May 2001, Genève Aéroport established in 2003 a concept of soundproofing of nearby housings and takes over the related cost. 

Since then, a new concept approved by the Federal Office of Civil Aviation in September 2017 defined a period of 10 years (2027) for the implementation of this programme. Moreover, the works carried out must meet, in particular, the Acoustic Specifications and Recommendations for the Renovation of the Buildings nearby the Airport.​

du bruit et des mesures

Le bruit du trafic aérien constitue l’une des préoccupations majeures de Genève Aéroport. Depuis plus de quatre décennies, il mesure, surveille et lutte afin de contenir l’impact sonore des activités des nombreux acteurs de la plateforme.

Dans le cadre du Plan sectoriel de l’infrastructure aéronautique (PSIA), un engagement fort a été pris consistant à plafonner le bruit pour les années à venir et à terme réduire l’empreinte sonore du trafic aérien. 

Soucieux d’améliorer le dialogue avec les riverains, Genève Aéroport a développé une plateforme interactive sur les mouvements des aéronefs et le bruit émis. Gérée par Genève Aéroport avec l’appui de la société CASPER, spécialisée dans ce domaine, cette plateforme est riche en informations (mesure du bruit, dispositions légales, actions entreprises, informations sur les mouvements, etc.) et constitue un lien privilégié entre l’aéroport et les riverains. 

 

Des mouvements nocturnes régulés

La concession fédérale d’exploitation de l’aéroport ainsi que l’Ordonnance fédérale sur l’infrastructure aéronautique (OSIA) régulent le régime des mouvements nocturnes d’avions à Genève Aéroport.

Les décollages et les atterrissages de vols non commerciaux sont autorisés à Genève entre 06:00 et 22:00. 

Pour les vols commerciaux, des décollages et atterrissages sont possibles depuis 06:00 jusqu’à minuit et demi. Aucun créneau de départ n’est octroyé après 22:00 et aucun créneau d’arrivées après 00:00. Ainsi, les départs entre 22:00 et 00:30 et les arrivées entre 00:00 et 00:30 sont des mouvements planifiés en retard sur l’horaire. 

Le trafic entre 06:00 et 22:00 est donc strictement limité. 

Toutefois, l’aéroport a l’obligation de rester ouvert 24/24 pour pallier à toutes situations exceptionnelles et imprévisibles (incidents techniques, vols ou diversion sanitaire, recherche, sauvetage, etc.) et/ou autorisé par l’Ordonnance fédérale sur l’infrastructure aéronautique (OSIA) ou l’Office fédéral de l’aviation civile (OFAC) (vols militaires, diplomatiques, humanitaires, techniques, etc.). 

En cas d’événement exceptionnel, l’aéroport peut accorder des dérogations pour des mouvements au-delà de 00:30. Les demandes des compagnies aériennes sont examinées au cas par cas. Genève Aéroport n’accorde pas de dérogation injustifiée et cela reste absolument exceptionnel.

Insonorisation des logements de riverains

Conformément à son règlement d’exploitation du 31 mai 2001, Genève Aéroport a établi dès 2003 un concept de mesures d’isolation acoustique des logements situés à proximité et dont il assume le coût. 

Depuis, un nouveau concept validé par l’Office fédéral de l’aviation civile en septembre 2017 a précisé le déroulement de ce programme à réaliser dans un délai de 10 ans (2027). Par ailleurs, les travaux réalisés doivent notamment répondre au Cahier des charges acoustique et recommandations pour l’assainissement des immeubles riverains de l'aéroport.Conformément à son règlement d’exploitation du 31 mai 2001, Genève Aéroport a établi dès 2003 un concept de mesures d’isolation acoustique des logements situés à proximité et dont il assume le coût. 

Depuis, un nouveau concept validé par l’Office fédéral de l’aviation civile en septembre 2017 a précisé le déroulement de ce programme à réaliser dans un délai de 10 ans (2027). Par ailleurs, les travaux réalisés doivent notamment répondre au Cahier des charges acoustique et recommandations pour l’assainissement des immeubles riverains de l'aéroport.