Geneva and region

Unireso: train, tram, bus, boat

The airport is located at nearly 4 km from Geneva city centre. It is easily reachable by train or by bus using the united network of public transport Unireso. Only one single ticket is required to travel by train, tram, bus or boat in the area France-Vaud-Geneva.

It takes only 6 minutes from/to Geneva city centre by train (every 12 minutes at rush hours). The airport railway station has direct access to the airport Check-in and Arrival levels. All trains stop at Geneva-Cornavin station (city centre).

The following urban buses stop every 8-15 minutes at rush hours at the airport (bus stops at the Check-in level, in front of or beside the train station).

TPG ligne 5Aéroport - Aréna/Palexpo - Nations - Cornavin - Rive - Malagnou - Thônex-Vallard

TPG ligne 10Aéroport - Balexert - Cornavin - Bel-Air - Rive

TPG ligne 23Aéroport - Blandonnet - Lignon - Aïre - Grand-Lancy - ZIPLO

TPG ligne 28Parfumerie - Vernier - Blandonnet - Aéroport - Fret - Grand-Saconnex - Nations - Jardin-Botanique

TPG ligne 57Aéroport - Blandonnet - Hôtpial de la Tour - Meyrin

TPG ligne FGex - Cessy - Grand-Saconnex - Nations - Cornavin

TPG ligne YFerney - Grand-Saconnex - Aéroport - Blandonnet - CERN - Thoiry

Tourist information can be obtained at the information counter in the Arrivals hall of the airport, on leaving customs control. Tickets can be purchased from the machines located at bus stops (CHF or Euro change required) and at the Swiss railway station.

Déplacement de certains arrêts de bus à Genève Aéroport

Sorry, not available in English

Dans le cadre de la réfection de la plateforme les arrêts de bus se trouvant à la gare CFF de Genève Aéroport sont déplacés du 17 novembre au 13 décembre 2014.

Dès lundi 17 novembre, les bus TPG circulent en sens unique en front de l'aérogare.

Retrouvez ci-dessous toutes les informations:

  • Bus 5: arrivée et départ à côté de la gare CFF de Genève Aéroport.
  • Bus 23 (arrivée terminus) et 57 (arrivée terminus): en face de la porte numéro 1 de Genève Aéroport.
  • Bus 23 direction Ziplo et bus 57 direction Zimeysa: de l'autre côté de la de la route, après les caisses du parking au niveau Départ.
  • Bus 28 direction Jardin botanique et bus Y direction Fernet-Voltaire: en face de la porte numéro 2 de Genève Aéroport.
  • Bus 28 direction Vernier et bus Y direction Val-Thoiry: de l'autre côté de la de la route, après les caisses du parking au niveau Départ.
  • Bus 10: arrivée et départ en face de la porte numéro 5 de Genève Aéroport.
> Téléchargez le plan

Travel free on public transport during your stay in Geneva

Since 2008, you can pick up a free ticket for public transport from the machine in the baggage collection area at the Arrival level. This Unireso ticket, offered by Genève Aéroport, allows you to use public transport in the canton of Geneva free for a period of 80 minutes.

Borne Unireso en zone bagages

If you’re travelling at night, Unireso suggests you use their Noctambus service, a nighttime public transportation network. For more information: www.noctambus.ch.

If you are staying at a hotel, a youth hostel or a campsite, the establishment will offer you the "Geneva Transport Card" that allows you to use public transport in Geneva free of charge during your stay. Get more information from Genève Tourisme or the establishment concerned.

Train timetables changed between Geneva and France (work on lines)

Major work is being done on French-Swiss train lines in the Geneva area, in preparation for the introduction of the regional rail system, the RER, and to improve connections with France. That work will affect service between Geneva and Genève-Aéroport and between Geneva and France throughout 2014. Passengers should inquire before travelling.

The Swiss (CFF) and French (RFF) rail networks are modernizing their cross-border rail network throughout 2014. Their purpose: to lay the groundwork for the regional rail system (RER) connecting France and the Swiss cantons of Vaud and Geneva and to improve connections between Geneva and France. On both sides of the border, the work includes improving network electrification, signalling and security installations, and will make it possible to introduce new regional dual-current trains along the entire Geneva – La Plaine – Bellegarde line.

As concerns the Genève Aéroport service, the number of trains between Geneva and Genève-Aéroport will be reduced from 15 July to 13 December 2014, as a result of work on the track layout in Genève-Châtelaine. Three trains will run in either direction every hour. Please consult www.cff.ch.

The CFF and the RFF recommend that passengers inquire before setting out. Information is available at ticket counters and on www.cff.ch/geneve2014, and the CFF have set up a free dedicated hotline - 0800 22 00 11 - for the duration of the work. A flyer is also available in CFF train stations throughout the region.

In France, passengers can consult the following channels of information:
www.ter-sncf.com (Rhône-Alpes), in the "travaux" section, and www.rff.fr, in the "actualités" section.

Posters are being put up in train stations to inform passengers. Announcements will be broadcast in trains and stations. Bicycles cannot be transported on the buses and reservations are mandatory for groups.

Full press release

Free shuttle buses to Swiss hotels

Free shuttle buses outside the Arrival level for the following hotels:

Taxis in Geneva

Taxis in Geneva can be ordered by phone, hailed in the street or found at about 60 authorised taxi ranks in town, airport and main station.

Fares between airport and city range from about CHF 35.00 to CHF 45.00 and depend on traffic conditions, time of day and number of passengers. Presently, the fare within Geneva, including airport, is the amount shown on the taximeter.

> More information

Chapter IV of law H 1 30.01 on taxis and limousines defines inter alia how taxi stations and the information desk at Geneva International Airport operate.

GVA : Urgences

Genf und Umgebung

Unireso: Zug, Tram, Bus, Schiff

Der Flughafen liegt nur 4 Km von Genf Stadtzentrum. Es kann dank dem Tarifverbund des öffentlichen Verkehrs Unireso per Zug oder Bus äusserst einfach erreicht werden. Mit einer einzigen Fahrkarte kann die Region Frankreich-Waadt-Genf per Zug, Tram, Bus und Schiff befahren werden.

Der Zug bedient den Flughafen vom und ins Zentrum von Genf alle 12 Minuten an den Hauptverkehrszeiten mit einer Reisedauer von nur 6 Minuten. Der Bahnhof SBB "Genf-Flughafen" kann von den Ebenen Check-in und Ankunft des Flughafens aus direkt erreicht werden. Alle Züge halten im Hauptbahnhof Genf-Cornavin (Stadtzentrum).

Die Busse der städtischen Verkehrsbetriebe bedienen den Flughafen (Haltestelle auf der Ebene Check-in beim Eingang oder auf der Seite des Bahnhofs SBB) alle 8-15 Minuten an den Hauptverkehrszeiten.

TPG ligne 5Aéroport - Aréna/Palexpo - Nations - Cornavin - Rive - Malagnou - Thônex-Vallard

TPG ligne 10Aéroport - Balexert - Cornavin - Bel-Air - Rive

TPG ligne 23Aéroport - Blandonnet - Lignon - Aïre - Grand-Lancy - ZIPLO

TPG ligne 28Parfumerie - Vernier - Blandonnet - Aéroport - Fret - Grand-Saconnex - Nations - Jardin-Botanique

TPG ligne 57Aéroport - Blandonnet - Hôtpial de la Tour - Meyrin

TPG ligne FGex - Cessy - Grand-Saconnex - Nations - Cornavin

TPG ligne YFerney - Grand-Saconnex - Aéroport - Blandonnet - CERN - Thoiry

Information für Touristen gibt es am Informationsschalter in der Ankunftshalle des Flughafens, nach der Zollkontrolle. Fahrkarten können von den Automaten an den Haltestellen (CHF- oder Euromünzen erforderlich) und im Bahnhof SBB bezogen werden.

Kostenlose öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in Genf während Ihres Aufenthalts

Ab 2008 können Sie am Billetautomat in der Gepäckausgabezone (Ankunftshalle) eine Gratis-Fahrkarte beziehen. Mit dieser Unireso-Fahrkarte, die Ihnen vom Genève Aéroport offeriert wird, können Sie die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel von Genf (Kanton) während 80 Minuten frei benutzen.

Borne Unireso en zone bagages

Für Nachtschwärmer bietet Unireso seinen Nachtdienst Noctambus auf dem öffentlichen Verkehrsnetz an. Für weitere Informationen: www.noctambus.ch

Übernachten Sie in Genf in einem Hotel, einer Jugendherberge oder auf einem Campingplatz, erhalten Sie dort eine "Geneva Transport Card", mit der Sie während der Dauer Ihres Aufenthalts die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel von Genf kostenlos benutzen können. Weitere Informationen sind bei Genève Tourisme oder der betreffenden Unterkunft erhältlich.

Fahrplanänderungen auf den Strecken zwischen Genf und Frankreich (Bauarbeiten)

Auf dem französisch-schweizerischen Schienennetz in der Region Genf werden im Vorfeld der Einführung der S-Bahn und zur Verbesserung der Bahnverbindungen mit Frankreich wichtige Bauarbeiten durchgeführt. Diese Baustellen werden 2014 Auswirkungen auf die Bahnverbindungen zwischen Genf und Genf-Flughafen und zwischen Genf und Frankreich haben. Den Reisenden wird empfohlen, sich vor der Abreise zu informieren.

SBB und RFF (Réseau Ferré de France) nehmen im Jahr 2014 Modernisierungsarbeiten am grenzüberschreitenden Schienennetz vor. Ziel der Arbeiten ist die Vorbereitung auf die Einführung der S-Bahn Frankreich-Waadt-Genf und die Verbesserung der Bahnverbindungen zwischen Genf und Frankreich. Auf der schweizerischen und der französischen Seite bestehen die Arbeiten hauptsächlich darin, die Elektrifizierung, die Signalisierung und die Sicherheitsinstallationen zu verbessern. Diese Bauarbeiten werden die Einführung neuer regionaler Zweistromzüge auf der gesamten Strecke von Genf – La Plaine – Bellegarde ermöglichen.

Was die Verbindung mit Genève Aéroport anbelangt, so muss die Anzahl der verkehrenden Züge zwischen Genf und Genf-Flughafen in der Periode vom 15. Juli bis zum 13. Dezember 2014 aufgrund einer Änderung der Gleispläne in Genf-Châtelaine reduziert werden. Es werden drei Verbindungen in beide Richtungen während des Tages aufrechterhalten. Am Abend werden Ersatzbusse für die Verbindung mit dem Flughafen eingesetzt.

SBB und RFF empfehlen den Kunden, sich vor der Abreise zu informieren. Informationen sind an den Schaltern und auf www.cff.ch/geneve2014 verfügbar. Zudem wird während der Periode der Bauarbeiten eine Gratis-Hotline der SBB unter der Nummer 0800 22 00 11 aufgeschaltet. Im Weiteren ist in den SBB-Bahnhöfen der Region ein Flyer verfügbar.

Auf französischer Seite können sich die Reisenden wie folgt informieren:
www.ter-sncf.com (Rhône-Alpes) – Rubrik "travaux" und www.rff.fr - Rubrik actualité.

An den Bahnhöfen werden die Reisenden mit Plakaten informiert. In den Zügen und Bahnhöfen werden entsprechende Ansagen durchgegeben. Der Transport von Fahrrädern in den Bussen ist nicht möglich. Für Gruppenreisen ist eine Reservation obligatorisch.

Vollständige Pressemitteilung

Gratis-Shuttle-Bus (CH)

Gratis-Shuttle-Bus von der Ebene "Ankunft" zu folgenden Hotels:

Genfer Taxis

Die Genfer Taxis können per Telefon bestellt, auf der Strasse herangewinkt oder auf einem der 60 Standplätze der Stadt, beim Flughafen und bei den Bahnhöfen gefunden werden.

Der Tarif für eine Fahrt zwischen Flughafen und Stadt bewegt sich zwischen CHF 35.00 und CHF 45.00. Er hängt von der Verkehrsdichte, der Reisedauer und der Passagierzahl ab. Zur Zeit entspricht der Tarif in ganz Genf (inkl. Flughafen) dem Betrag auf dem Taxameter. Für das Gepäck wird ein geringer Aufpreis verrechnet.

 > Mehr Informationen

Kapitel IV des Gesetzes über den Betrieb von Taxis und Limousinen H 1 30.01 regelt im Besonderen den Betrieb der Taxistände und des Auskunftsschalters am Internationalen Flughafen Genf.

GVA : Urgences