Airport in motion

Transformation of the check-in hall


 


PROGRESS OF THE FACADE OF THE MAIN TERMINAL

PERIOD OF WORKS: 06.2016 - 12.2017

The glass façade will be renovated and advanced several metres in front of the terminal to give more space to the check-in hall.

The area of the check-in hall of Genève Aéroport (or main terminal T1) will be increased by the advancement of the façade. More than one thousand square meters will be earned on the forecourt of the airport terminal. They will allow a redistribution of spaces, indoors, and will improve the quality of travellers reception, optimise spaces dedicated to airlines and streamline passenger flow.
This project, started on 27 June 2016, will end at the end of 2017. It will take place in several successive stages (see opposite), throughout which the access to the terminal will be temporarily changed. Temporary signs will be used and regularly updated to indicate passengers the path to follow.
It should be noted that, throughout the first stage of the works, access to the check-in counters is made primarily from the outside, directly from the check-in floor. Indeed, the arrivals passage at the check-in level from the inside of the terminal (via the stairs, escalators and elevators), will be temporarily reduced.
The passage of the check-in level located at the floor above the departures continues to be made from the inside of the terminal, via the facilities (stairs, escalators and elevators). These facilities will be reduced, those remaining being duly indicated.

ARRIVAL BY TRAIN
Passengers arriving at Genève Aéroport by train to take a plane must exit the railway station through the upper level. Only individuals who wish to go to the arrivals will exit through the shopping gallery, as well as people with reduced mobility, who must follow the paths indicated by appropriate signage.

ARRIVAL BY PUBLIC TRANSPORT 
People arriving at Genève Aéroport by bus, shuttle bus, taxi or who are dropped in front of the Terminal at the Kiss & Fly enter the check-in hall directly from the platform on which they were dropped. Those who must go to the arrivals floor should prefer elevators or staircases from the outside to go down a level.

ARRIVAL BY PRIVATE CAR
Users of the platform who come by a private vehicle to take a plane must exit the parking lots at the check-in level (button E of the elevators).
Those who want to go directly to the arrivals level exit at the arrivals (button A of the elevators)
Users arriving at the airport by other means should prefer, for parking, the level to which they go.

IMPROVEMENT
Inaugurated in May 1968 and originally planned to accommodate 5 million passengers, the main terminal of Genève Aéroport welcomes today more than 16 million passengers per year. Various sites have already helped increase the area of this building. At the end of this development site of the façade, the space dedicated to passengers and airlines will be optimised. Throughout the duration of works, an effort will be made to alleviate nuisance caused by the construction. At the end of 2017, tarpaulins protecting the construction areas will reveal a fully renovated infrastructure that will enhance the architectural appearance of the building.

  Transformation step 1A
Transformation step 1A+2A
Transformation step 1B+2B
Transformation step 2B
Transformations étape 3

CONTACT: info-works

 

Access to the Terminal

 

Expansion works of the main hall involve some changes in the usual paths for our passengers. 
Here are some short videos to best assist all people travelling to Genève Aéroport:

 

> Il go to the airport from the Railway station

***

 

> I go to the airport by bus or by foot.

***

 

> I go to the airport by car. 

GVA : Urgences

Aéroport en mouvement

Transformation du hall check-in


 


AVANCEMENT DE LA FAÇADE DU TERMINAL PRINCIPAL

PÉRIODE DE TRAVAUX: 06.2016 - 12.2017

La façade vitrée va être rénovée et avancée de plusieurs mètres en front d’aérogare pour donner plus d’espace au hall d’enregistrement.

La surface du hall d’enregistrement de l’aéroport de Genève (ou terminal principal T1) va être augmentée par l’avancement de la façade. Plus de mille mètres carrés vont ainsi être gagnés sur le parvis de l’aérogare. Ils vont permettre une redistribution des espaces, à l’intérieur, et permettront d’améliorer la qualité de l’accueil des voyageurs, d’optimiser les espaces dévolus aux compagnies aériennes et de fluidifier les flux passagers.
Ce chantier, débuté le 27 juin 2016, se terminera à la fin de l’année 2017. Il se déroulera en plusieurs étapes successives (voir ci-contre), tout au long desquelles les accès à l’aérogare seront temporairement modifiés. Une signalétique ad hoc sera mise en place et régulièrement actualisée afin d’indiquer aux passagers le cheminement à emprunter.
Il est à noter que, durant toute la durée de la première étape des travaux, l’accès aux guichets d’enregistrement se fait prioritairement par l’extérieur, directement depuis l’étage des enregistrements. En effet le passage du niveau des arrivées au niveau des enregistrements par l’intérieur de l’aérogare (via les escaliers, escalators et ascenseurs), sera temporairement restreint.
Le passage de l’étage des enregistrements à celui des départs continue de ne s’effectuer que par l’intérieur de l’aérogare, via les installations (escaliers, escalators et ascenseurs). Ces dernières seront réduites en nombre, celles restant en service étant dûment signalisées.

ARRIVÉE EN TRAIN
Les passagers arrivant à Genève Aéroport par le train pour prendre un avion doivent sortir de la gare CFF par le niveau supérieur. Seules les personnes souhaitant se rendre aux arrivées sortiront par la galerie marchande, ainsi que les personnes à mobilité réduite qui devront suivre les cheminements indiqués par la signalétique ad hoc.

ARRIVÉE EN TRANSPORTS COLLECTIFS 
Les personnes arrivant à Genève Aéroport en bus, en navettes, en taxi ou qui se font déposer en front d’aérogare au Kiss&Fly accèdent au hall d’enregistrement directement depuis la plate-forme sur laquelle ils ont été déposés. Ceux qui doivent se rendre à l’étage des arrivées privilégient les ascenseurs ou escaliers extérieurs pour descendre d’un niveau.

ARRIVÉE EN VOITURE PRIVÉE
Les utilisateurs de la plate-forme venus avec un véhicule privé pour prendre un avion devront sortir des parkings au niveau des enregistrements (bouton E des ascenseurs).
Ceux qui veulent se rendre directement aux arrivées sortent au niveau des arrivées (bouton A des ascenseurs)
Les utilisateurs arrivant à l’aéroport par tout autre moyen de locomotion privilégient, pour stationner, le niveau vers lequel ils se dirigent.

AMÉLIORATION
Inaugurée en mai 1968 et initialement prévue pour accueillir 5 millions de passagers, l’aérogare principale de Genève Aéroport accueille aujourd’hui plus de 16 millions de passagers par an. Divers chantiers ont déjà contribué à augmenter les surfaces de ce bâtiment. Au terme de ce chantier d’avancement de la façade, l’espace dévolu aux passagers et aux compagnies aériennes sera optimisé. Durant toute la durée des travaux, un effort sera fait pour pallier les nuisances engendrées par le chantier. A la fin de l’année 2017, les bâches protégeant les zones de chantier découvriront une infrastructure entièrement rénovée qui améliorera l’aspect architectural de ce bâtiment.

  Transformations étape 1A
Transformation étape 1A+2A
Transformation étape 1B+2B
Transformations étape 2B
Transformations étape 3

CONTACT: info-travaux

 

Accès au Terminal

Les travaux d'agrandissement du hall principal impliquent quelques changements dans les cheminements habituels de nos passagers.
Afin de guider au mieux toutes les personnes se rendant à Genève Aéroport, voici une série de petites vidéos:

 

> Je viens à l'aéroport depuis la gare CFF. 

***

 

> Je viens à l'aéroport en bus ou à pied.

***

 

> Je viens à l'aéroport en voiture. 

GVA : Urgences