17.01.2017

Almost 16.5 million passengers arrived at Genève Aéroport in 2016


Passenger traffic grew by 4.8% in 2016, while the number of movements remained virtually stable. Freight activity saw a 6.5% positive development.

In 2016, Genève Aéroport welcomed approximately 16,532,691 passengers, i.e. 4.83% more than in 2015.
At the same time, the total landings and take-offs only rose by 0.54% to 189,840 movements.
On the other hand, air freight at Genève Aéroport increased by 6.6% to 69,295 tons.

These figures confirm the clear decoupling between the increasing curve in the number of passengers and in movements. This is explained by the better adaptation of capacities (companies opt for larger aircraft) as well as by the optimisation of their occupancy rate of the aircraft. 

The fleet choices that major airlines active on the platform have announced for 2017 will confirm this trend. The Bombardier CSeries, the A 320neo, the A 350 and the Boeing 787, less noisy and less greedy in kerosene, will also contribute to limit the noise emissions.

Given the evolution of capabilities of the main operators of the platform, 2017 forecasts indicate a 6% “margin” of seats on existing routes operated from and to Geneva: this margin can absorb a large part of the increase in passenger traffic without causing an increase in the number of aircraft. 

The evolution of freight volumes is a barometer of the local economy, which confirms the evolution of the demand to which the airport answers on the different segments of its aeronautical activity. It is also due to the opening of new lines or the increase in flights to some destinations with strong commercial potential.

Airlines vying for the top ten places in terms of market share are (43,8%), SWISS (13.8%), British Airways (5.50%), Air France (5%), KLM (2.59%), TAP Portugal (2.29%), Brussels Airlines (2.20%), Lufthansa (2.17%), Iberia (2.10%) and Emirates (1.74%).

The list of destinations will be made public at the same time as the annual report and the financial statements of the year 2016. This communication will be made on 4 April 2017.
 

Press release (FR)



Information on works in the check-in hall


Genève Aéroport makes various improvements for the benefit of its clients.

For more information on the changes in the check-in hall, please visit our page Airport in motion.

GVA : Urgences

Informations & News

17.01.2017

Genève Aéroport a accueilli 16,5 millions de passagers en 2016


Le trafic passagers a connu une croissance de 4,8% en 2016, tandis que le nombre de mouvements est resté quasiment stable. L’activité fret connaît quant à elle une évolution positive de 6,5 %.

Au cours de l’année 2016, Genève Aéroport a accueilli quelque 16'532'691 passagers, soit 4,83% de plus qu’en 2015.
Dans le même temps, le total des atterrissages et décollages n’a augmenté que de 0,54% pour atteindre 189'840 mouvements.
En revanche, l’activité fret aérien sur la plate-forme aéroportuaire genevoise connaît une augmentation de 6,6%, à 69'295 tonnes.

Ces chiffres viennent confirmer le net découplage entre la courbe d’augmentation du nombre de passagers et celle des mouvements. Ceci s’explique par la meilleure adaptation des capacités (les compagnies optent pour des avions de plus grande taille) ainsi que par l’optimisation de leurs taux de remplissage des appareils. 

Les choix de flotte que les principales compagnies aériennes actives sur la plate-forme ont annoncés pour 2017 vont venir confirmer cette tendance. Les Bombardier CSeries, les A 320neo, les A 350 et les Boeing 787, moins bruyants et moins gourmands en kérosène, vont par ailleurs contribuer à limiter les émissions de bruit.

Compte tenu de l’évolution des capacités des principaux opérateurs de la plateforme, les prévisions pour 2017 font état d’une « marge » de 6% de sièges sur les routes existantes opérées depuis et à destination de Genève : elle permettra d’absorber une large part de l’augmentation du trafic passager sans engendrer d’augmentation du nombre d’aéronefs. 

L’évolution des volumes de fret constitue un baromètre de l’économie locale, qui vient confirmer l’évolution de la demande à laquelle l’aéroport répond sur les différents segments de son activité aéronautique. Elle est également due à l’ouverture de nouvelles lignes ou à l’augmentation de fréquences sur certaines destinations à fort potentiel commercial.

Les compagnies aériennes se disputant les dix premières places en termes de parts de marché sont easyJet (43,8%), SWISS (13,8%), British Airways (5.50%), Air France (5%), KLM (2,59%), TAP Portugal (2,29%), Brussels Airlines (2,20%), Lufthansa (2,17%), Iberia (2,10%) et Emirates (1,74%).

Le palmarès des destinations sera rendu public en même temps que le rapport annuel et les états financiers de l’année 2016. Cette communication aura lieu le 4 avril 2017.

 

Communiqué de presse



Informations travaux hall check-in


Genève Aéroport fait plusieurs pas en direction de ses clients.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les transformations du hall check-in, nous vous invitons à consulter notre page Aéroport en mouvement.

GVA : Urgences