Wildlife hazard prevention

Genève Aéroport's wildlife hazard prevention unit (PPP)

Every year, damage caused by collisions between aircraft and wildlife, especially birds, costs airlines and air-forces hundreds of millions of francs. Statistics from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) show an average of 8,458 impacts per year between 1999 and 2000.

Experience shows that, actually, the figure is at least four times higher - nearly 34,000 collisions per year, or 93 impacts per day.

Commercial aviation has not suffered any very serious accidents in recent years. However, there is a need to remain alert to this phenomenon and to put in place the means necessary to ensure the safety of aircraft and their passengers.

All species of wildlife, even small ones, can cause significant damage to an aircraft. However, it is difficult to define clearly whether a species is a potential hazard to aviation in the broadest sense.

Wildlife hazard prevention at Genève Aéroport has been a security prerogative for many years. It has been strengthened in recent years with the creation of the Wildlife Hazard Prevention Unit (PPA), born of a long-standing partnership between Genève Aéroport and the Office of Works and Environmental Studies - BTEE SA. Prevention measures to counter wildlife hazards at airports in general, and at ours in particular, are an area that is both huge, complex, innovative and exciting.

GVA : Urgences

Prévention du péril animalier

Unité de Prévention du péril animalier (PPA) de Genève Aéroport

BTEEChaque année, les dégâts causés par des collisions entre des avions et des animaux, en particulier des oiseaux coûtent des centaines de millions de francs aux compagnies aériennes et aux armées de l’air. Les statistiques de l'Organisation de l'Aviation Civile Internationale (OACI) indiquent une moyenne de 8'458 impacts par année entre 1999 et 2000.

On sait par expérience qu'en fait, ce chiffre est au moins quatre fois supérieur, soit près de 34'000 collisions par année, c'est-à-dire 93 impacts par jour.

L'aviation commerciale n'a pas eu à déplorer d'accidents très graves ces dernières années. Cependant, il convient de rester attentif à ce phénomène et de mettre en œuvre les moyens nécessaires pour garantir la sécurité des avions et de leurs passagers.

Toute espèce d'animaux, même de petite taille, peut être à l'origine de dommages importants sur un avion. Toutefois, il s'avère difficile de nuancer clairement si une espèce donnée constitue un danger potentiel pour l'aviation, dans son sens le plus large.

La prévention du péril animalier à Genève Aéroport fait partie des prérogatives en matière de sécurité depuis de longues années. Cette dernière a été renforcée ces dernières années par la création de l'unité de Prévention du Péril Animalier (PPA) issue d'un partenariat de longue date entre Genève Aéroport et le Bureau de Travaux et d'Études en Environnement – BTEE SA. La prévention contre le risque animalier sur les aéroports en général, et le nôtre en particulier, est un domaine à la fois vaste, complexe, novateur et passionnant.

GVA : Urgences