Environmental Management System

What is an EMS?

An Environmental Management System (EMS) is a component of the corporate management system which covers the organisational structure, planning activities, responsibilities, practices, procedures, processes and resources involved in the implementation and updating of its environmental policy.

Integrated management

Genève Aéroport has been working for more than 30 years to restrict disturbances caused by air traffic. It conducts an active policy of limiting environmental impacts resulting from air traffic and airport activities. With this aim, Genève Aéroport is using an EMS to structure more effectively its actions since 1997.

Responsibilities

The commitment of Genève Aéroport general management to environmental protection is described in its environmental policy.

Under the responsibility of managers, all employees play an active role in adhering to environmental procedures and implementing environmental programs in their day-to-day tasks, subject to imperative operational limits.

Communication

An ongoing dialogue is maintained with local authorities as well as residents and environmental associations within the Consultative Committee for Action to Control Air Traffic Disturbances (CCLNTA).

Since January 2011, the communication with communities is enhanced by the opening of a new information area inside the airport : '' l'espace environnement ''. Boards, computers and environmental publications inform visitors about the actions carried out by Geneva Airport within the framework of its environmental policy. Interested people can schedule an appointment by calling (+41) 022 717 74 61.

Every two years, an sustainable development report informs about the airport's environmental performance and periodically the GVAEnvironnement newsletter focuses on an specific environmental theme. All of these publications can be found here.

Espace Environnement

Espace environnement

Practical implementation

Environmental activities are implemented within the EMS framework. They are based on the objectives fixed in the three-year environmental plan and planned in the annual action plans.

These actions are implemented by the relevant services at Genève Aéroport and third parties operating at the airport, in coordination with the Environmental and Legal Affairs division (13 people distributed among three departments: the Noise Abatement department, the Environment department, the Legal Affairs department).

Genève Aéroport uses environmental indicators to assess the environmental performance of airport activities and to identify improvement potentials.

GVA : Urgences

Système de management environnemental

Qu'est-ce qu'un SME?

Un système de management environnemental (SME) est une composante du système de gestion de l'entreprise qui englobe la structure organisationnelle, les activités de planification, les responsabilités, les pratiques, les procédures, les procédés et les ressources à prendre en compte pour la mise en œuvre et l'actualisation de sa politique environnementale.

Gestion intégrée

Depuis plusieurs décennies, Genève Aéroport se préoccupe de la lutte contre les nuisances dues au trafic aérien. Il mène une politique active de limitation des impacts environnementaux liés au trafic aérien et aux activités aéroportuaires. Dans ce but, Genève Aéroport s'est doté d'un SME dès 1997 pour mieux structurer ses actions.

Responsabilités

L'engagement de la direction générale de Genève Aéroport pour la protection de l'environnement est décrit dans la politique environnementale de Genève Aéroport.

Sous la responsabilité des cadres, chaque collaboratrice et collaborateur a un rôle actif à jouer en respectant les procédures environnementales et en mettant en pratique les programmes environnementaux dans ses tâches quotidiennes, dans les limites des impératifs opérationnels.

Communication

Un dialogue permanent est maintenu avec les autorités des communes avoisinantes et les associations de riverains et de protection de l'environnement au sein de la Commission consultative pour la lutte contre les nuisances dues au trafic aérien.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2011, la communication avec les riverains est renforcée par l’ouverture d’un nouvel espace d’information : l’espace environnement de Genève Aéroport. Panneaux d’informations, publications environnementales et écrans de projection permettent de renseigner les visiteurs sur les actions menées par Genève Aéroport dans le cadre de sa politique environnementale. Les riverains peuvent prendre rendez-vous avec un collaborateur du service environnement en appelant le (+41) 022 717 74 61.

Tous les deux ans, un rapport de développement durable fait le point sur les activités environnementales mises en œuvre et réalisées durant la période écoulée.

Espace environnement de Genève Aéroport

Réalisation concrète

Le SME donne un cadre à la réalisation des activités environnementales. Elles se basent sur les objectifs fixés dans le plan environnemental triennal, déclinés en plans d'actions annuels.

Ces actions sont réalisées par les services concernés au sein de Genève Aéroport et des instances et sociétés partenaires de l'aéroport, en coordination avec le service environnement et développement durable.

Genève Aéroport s'appuie sur des indicateurs environnementaux pour évaluer la performance environnementale des activités aéroportuaires et analyser des axes de progrès.

GVA : Urgences