19.04.2017

Return of Air Mauritius in Geneva


Genève Aéroport is pleased to confirm the come back of the company Air Mauritius for the upcoming winter season 2017/18. It is a major add-on to Geneva’s long-haul air network which was highly expected by the travel professionals and clients accustomed to this dream destination.

Indeed, Air Mauritius had started its presence in Geneva precisely thirty years ago, in 1987, and has operated here for almost twenty-five years without interruption. This decision marks the return of an iconic airline, famous for the quality of its service, strong of 50 years of history as the Mauritian national air carrier.

Flights are scheduled for next winter’s peak season from November 2017 to February 2018. They will be operated on Saturdays (18 November to 16 December), then on Fridays (22 December to 23 February), in order to align with the already busy weekends at Genève Aéroport during the winter period.

The day-end timetable is particularly suited to this trip, allowing a very comfortable outward night flight (departure from Geneva at 9.05 p.m., arrival in Mauritius at 11.05 a.m.). The return is done by day, departure from Mauritius at 9.15 a.m. arrival in Geneva at 5.50 p.m. As a reminder, one of the advantages of this exotic destination is its very small jet-lag compared to Geneva (+ 3 hours in the winter).

Mauritius is a beautiful island of only 1.3 million inhabitants, located in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Madagascar and close to la Réunion. In addition to its dreamy beaches and idyllic landscapes, it boasts an excellent, and rather upscale oriented, infrastructure. The richness of its mixed culture offers also a very humanly rich stay. Being a French speaking destination is, above all, an essential asset for the Swiss and French clientele of the Genève Aéroport catchment area.

Air Mauritius flights are already on sale, and many tour operators in the region offer arrangements that benefit from the unquestionable advantage of this direct flight. The local market should therefore ensure the success of this new route and be beneficial to Mauritius Island’s tourism. In 2016, more than 36,000 Swiss have visited this destination, an 18% increase and trend that should go on.

Mauritius is also a business centre and a major financial centre for the entire southern Africa.

This new, southern hemisphere, destination is judiciously complementing the direct air services proposed by Genève Aéroport and meets one of its stated vocations, namely to improve the quality of its long-haul network.

Information and reservations:
www.airmauritius.com

News Release
Air Mauritius - News Release (.PDF)

Marketing & Business Development



Information on works in the check-in hall


Genève Aéroport makes various improvements for the benefit of its clients.

For more information on the changes in the check-in hall, please visit our page Airport in motion.

GVA : Urgences

News & Informationen

19.04.2017

Air Mauritius kommt zurück nach Genf


Genève Aéroport freut sich, die Rückkehr der Fluggesellschaft Air Mauritius für die nächste Wintersaison 2017/18 zu bestätigen. Dies ist eine wichtige Neuerung für das Langstreckennetz von Genf, auf die Reiseprofis und Stammkunden dieses Traumziels bereits warteten.

Air Mauritius begann vor genau 30 Jahren, im Jahr 1987, Genf anzufliegen, und hielt den Betrieb fast fünfundzwanzig Jahre ununterbrochen bei. Diese Entscheidung führt also zur Rückkehr eines ikonischen Unternehmens, das für die Qualität seiner Dienstleistungen bekannt ist und seit 50 Jahren als nationale Fluglinie von Mauritius fliegt.

Flüge sind für die Hochsaison des kommenden Winters von November 2017 bis Februar 2018 geplant. Der Betriebstag ist zunächst Samstag (vom 18. November bis zum 16. Dezember) und dann Freitag (vom 22. Dezember bis zum 23. Februar) mit Rücksicht auf die im Winter bereits stark ausgelasteten Wochenenden im Genève Aéroport.

Der Abflug spät am Tag ist besonders geeignet für diese Reise und ermöglicht einen sehr komfortablen Nachtflug (Abflug Genf um 21.05 Uhr, Landung in Mauritius um 11:05 Uhr). Der Rückflug erfolgt tagsüber mit Abflug in Mauritius um 9:15 Uhr und Landung in Genf um 17:50 Uhr. Zur Erinnerung, einer der Vorteile dieses exotischen Reiseziels ist die sehr geringe Zeitverschiebung gegenüber Genf (im Winter +3 Stunden).

Mauritius ist eine wunderschöne Insel mit nur 1,3 Millionen Einwohnern im Indischen Ozean vor der Küste von Madagaskar und in der Nähe von La Réunion. Neben ihren Traumstränden und paradiesischen Landschaften bietet sie eine herausragende touristische Infrastruktur, die eher auf eine gehobene Klientel ausgelegt ist. Der Reichtum ihrer Kultur mit zahlreichen Einflüssen macht einen Aufenthalt ebenfalls menschlich sehr bereichernd. Ein wichtiger Vorteil dieses Reiseziels für die schweizerischen und französischen Fluggäste aus dem Einzugsgebiet von Genève Aéroport ist, dass dort französisch gesprochen wird.

Die Flüge von Air Mauritius können Sie bereits reservieren, und viele Reisebüros in der Region bieten Pauschalreisen an, die den Vorteil dieses Direktflugs nutzen. Der lokale Markt dürfte so den Erfolg dieser neuen Verbindung gewährleisten, von der der Tourismus auf Mauritius profitiert. Im Jahr 2016 haben mehr als 36.000 Schweizer dieses Reiseziel besucht, eine Steigerung um 18 % und ein Trend, der sich wohl fortsetzt.

Die Insel Mauritius ist ebenfalls ein Geschäftszentrum und ein wichtiges Finanzzentrum für das gesamte südliche Afrika.

Dieses neue Flugziel in der südlichen Hemisphäre ergänzt so das Angebot von Direktflügen ab Genève Aéroport logisch und entspricht einem ihrer erklärten Ziele, der qualitativen Verbesserung ihres Langstreckennetzes.

Information und Reservierung:
www.airmauritius.com

Pressemitteilung:
Air Mauritius - News Release (.PDF)

Marketing & Business Development



Informationen zum Umbau der Check-in-Halle


Genève Aéroport kommt seinen Kunden entgegen.

Für weitere Informationen über den Umbau der Check-in-Halle, besuchen Sie bitte unsere Webpage Der Flughafen in voller Bewegung.

 

GVA : Urgences